Tuesday, 14 July 2015

Check this out, should be worth watching tomorrow?

Courtesy of Today's Golfer

Rory McIlroy will kick himself (well he would if he could get the plaster off) for missing the Champion Golfers Ghallenge at St Andrews tomorrow; an exhibition match alongside Arnold Palmer, Nick Faldo and Tiger Woods.
The unique event will see players whose Open victories span 60 years taking part.  
The draw for the historic contest on Wednesday will see 29 Champion Golfers with a combined 46 victories in golf’s oldest Championship taking part.  The four-hole challenge on the Old Course will be contested by an array of players.
In the first team, which tees off at 4.10pm, three-time Champion Golfer Tiger Woods will play with the 1998 Champion Mark O’Meara. They will be joined by the 1994 Champion Nick Price and team captain Tom Weiskopf, who won at Royal Troon in 1973.
On the 40th anniversary of his victory at Carnoustie and ahead of his final appearance in The Open, five-time Champion Golfer Tom Watson will captain the third team, teeing off at 4.32pm. Watson is joined by the 1991 and 2004 Champions Ian Baker-Finch and Todd Hamilton as well as Louis Oosthuizen, who won The Open the last time it was played in St Andrews in 2010.
At 4.43. p.m. Watson’s fellow five-time Champion Golfer, Peter Thomson, who first lifted the Claret Jug in 1954 and is celebrating the 60th anniversary of his victory at St Andrews in 1955, will captain the team comprising the 2013 and 2012 Champions, Phil Mickelson and Ernie Els, and Ben Curtis, who won in 2003.
The last two Champions from England, three-time winner Sir Nick Faldo and Tony Jacklin, who won in 1969, will be joined by Americans John Daly, who won The Open at St Andrews in 1995, and Tom Lehman, the victor at Royal Lytham & St Annes in 1996. They tee off at 5.05pm.
The day will be rounded off by a group captained by Arnold Palmer. The two-time Champion’s team would have included the 2014 Champion Golfer Rory McIlroy, and will include his fellow Irishman Darren Clarke, who won at Royal St George’s in 2011, and the 2007 and 1981 Champions Paul Lawrie and Bill Rogers.
The Champion Golfers’ Challenge will commence at 3.30pm with a performance from the Royal Marines Band Scotland. BBC Sport presenter Hazel Irvine will act as the Master of Ceremonies on the first tee.
The teams will compete on the 1st, 2nd, 17th and 18th holes of the Old Course for a prize of £100,000 which will be donated to a charity of their choice. The best individual score per team on each hole will count as the team score.
The challenge will be available to view around the world on TheOpen.com and through the official Open App and will be televised by the BBC and ESPN.
The full draw for the Champion Golfers’ Challenge
4.10pmTom Weiskopf (Captain)
Mark O’Meara
Nick Price
Tiger Woods
4.21pmSir Bob Charles (Captain)
David Duval
Justin Leonard
Sandy Lyle
4.32pmTom Watson (Captain)
Ian Baker-Finch
Todd Hamilton
Louis Oosthuizen
4.43pmPeter Thomson (Captain)
Ben Curtis
Ernie Els
Phil Mickelson
4.54pmGary Player (Captain)
Stewart Cink
Mark Calcavecchia
Padraig Harrington
5.05pmTony Jacklin (Captain)
John Daly
Sir Nick Faldo
Tom Lehman
5.16pmArnold Palmer (Captain)
Darren Clarke
Paul Lawrie
Bill Rogers

Should be worth a look.

No comments: