Thursday, 25 April 2013

FOOTNOTE TO THE MASTERS


Jack Nicklaus, interviewed about the Tiger Woods controversy, said "You've got all the best rules heads together and they decide there was no intent to  do anything (improper) and that a two stroke penalty was strong enough.  And you move on."  He didn't think Tiger Woods should have disqualified himself.   "If Tiger did that, he'd be putting himself in a position of saying, 'I'm above the rules.' You accept the ruling, whether it's good or bad for you."

Nicklaus wasn't so certain about the one-stroke penalty given to Tianlang for slow play."He's 14 years old and he's playing in the Masters.  And he gets a penalty?  Can you imagine giving a 14-year-old kid a penalty for slow play?" He added, "There's hundreds of guys who are much slower probably, and they figure out a way to get away with it."

 

No comments: